Sketch of the Blue Mosque

Since it’s Ramadan, I thought it would be fitting to draw one of the most celebrated pieces of Islamic architecture. You’ll likely recognize the silhouette of this mosque characterizing the Istanbul skyline as seen from the Bosphorus. It’s the Blue Mosque, also known as the Sultan Ahmet Mosque.

Blue Mosque SketchThis was a quick sketch, taking 1.5 hours that allowed me to finish at 4:30 am. I’ve been very busy with research and graduate exam studying lately, so the only times I have to sketch are at these obscene “is-it-night-or-is-it-morning” times. Hey, I’m not complaining though. I’ll take any time I can get to sketch out what inspires me. Not sure why I have the urge to do this though though, since I’m neither an architect nor an artist. Perhaps this calls for a future post to investigate whether there is any connection in the thinking and rewards of neuroscience with the process and creativity of architecture…. Blue Mosque Scaffolding

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. tamtam012013 says:

    Beautiful 💜

    Like

Leave a comment